Friday, January 3, 2014

[Book Review] Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

Uninvited (Uninvited, #1)Uninvited 

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.


*ARC copy was provided by the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review*

Uninvited is the kind of book that you cannot give up to. The thrill and the adventure only begins in the second part of the book that makes you question the blurred line between dystopian genre and the real world.

With high violence rate, 2021 brings promise where everyone is required to get tested for HTS – a gene that is also known as Homicidal Tendency Syndrome, or – kill gene. People that have this gene are dangerous to society and eventually will snap and kill someone. Before Davy Hamilton got tested positive for HTS, she was the girl that everyone wanted to be. Popular, talented, accepted to Juilliard, and with the hot boyfriend who will do anything for her. But when everyone finds out that she is a carrier, they see her as a monster. Someone who will eventually snap. Davy is forced to go to a different school with other carriers where the real threat is not what the outside the “Cage”, but on the inside.

First 60% was definitely sometimes out of Chick-Lit genre. Girl likes a boy and then there’s a big tragedy and he rejects her with her best friend betraying her back. Davy was a typical teenager with thinking a little too high of herself. I wasn’t sure if I was going to like this book because of the way she acted. Her simple “I am better so I cannot be a carrier” demeanor was a complete turn off.

However…. Once you get to the second part of the book, this is where the action begins. With military grade training and high alert security, the world-building becomes less of a reality. You can clearly see the switch that was made in Devy and her realization that only the strongest will survive. She became strong, fearless, and simply amazing.

4 comments:

  1. OOh nice review! Will definitely have to keep telling myself to read further once the first half starts to get too "ordinary" for me. I was rejected for this one like 3 times on Edelweiss. No idea why. Guess I'm not finding these titles fast enough and the publisher already handed out as much as possible. Oh well, the wait is at least down to less than a month!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. OMG They can't rejecting me for Four Seconds To Lose! lol I don't know why. But I hope you will get to read it!

      Delete
  2. There aren't many books where the second half pushes the rating way high... :-) This sounds really great. I've just finished an NA book by Sophie Jordan which I quite enjoyed. This seems to be on a lot of people's lists for Bout of Books. I'm glad you liked this one, even if you found the first half slow.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I'm really excited to read this one. Although I always think I'll really like books about serial killers or murder mysteries but then I end up getting really creeped out :) Great review!

    ReplyDelete